Mike Patton’s Mondo Cane: Artwork revealed

Ipecac Recordings has revelaed the cover artwork for Mike Patton‘s MONDO CANE, a new entity for the inimitable vocalist that marries his instrument-like voice with a 40-piece orchestra, choir and band.

While Patton is known for a employing a wide variety of incarnations, MONDO CANE is unlike any of his previous projects. First, and most obviously, MONDO CANE is an Italian language release. The album also finds the singer paying homage to other songwriters, a first for the front man of bands as original and influential as MR. BUNGLE, TOMAHAWK and FANTOMAS. Patton explains , “My purpose in revisiting these pieces is not to relive the past, not for nostalgia, but more to illustrate through modern and adventurous interpretation exactly how vital and important this music still is.”

The collection includes THE BLACKMEN‘s “Urlo Negro”, a late ’60s song about the civil rights struggle, to GINO PAOLI‘s Senza Fine, made famous by CONNIE FRANCIS, and on to Patton‘s beloved MORRICONE who penned “Deep Down” for the film “Danger: Diabolik” in 1968.

“Mondo Cane” track listing:

01. Il Cielo In Una Stanza
02. Che Notte!
03. Ore D’Amore
04. Deep Down (video below)
05. Quello Che Conta
06. Urlo Negro
07. Scalinatella
08. L’Uomo Che Non Sapeva Amare
09. 20 KM Al Giorno
10. Ti Offro Da Bere
11. Senza Fine

“Mondo Cane” will be released on May 4 via Ipecac Recordings.

Copyright Ipecac Records

One Comment Add yours

  1. Rodrigo L. says:

    I really like this album, Mike sings in Italian as well. It was very unusual


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s