New Opeth album due out Sept. 20th

Opeth forthcoming album “Heritage” has now been slated for a September 20th release date through Roadrunner. The song “The Devil’s Orchard” has been tapped as the first single from the release with a music video for it in the cards.

Speaking on the outing, band frontman/guitarist Mikael Akerfeldt had the following to say:

“It will be our 10th album/observation. I dig it; we all do. In fact, it feels like I’ve been building up to write for and participate on an album like this since I was 19.”

He went on to state:

“It’s quite intense at times in some ‘old’ murky way, and quite beautiful and stark at times, if I may say so myself. It’s obvious I’m going to say nice things about it since I wrote basically the whole piece, but I guess it will raise a few eyebrows and it certainly is an acquired taste.

I think you’ll need a slightly deeper understanding of our music as a whole to be able to appreciate this record. I’ve realized my influences for this album are so diverse that I can’t really say what it sounds like. If I can compare it to any other band, it would have to be Opeth, but it’s different from the stuff we’ve done before. I’ve listened a lot to Alice Cooper for the last year, yet I can’t say it sounds like ‘No More Mr. Nice Guy.’ I hope you’ll like it once you hear it.”

The track listing for the outing, which was produced by Akerfeldt and mixed by Steve Wilson of Porcupine Tree can be found below:

01 – “Heritage”
02 – “The Devil’s Orchard”
03 – “I Feel The Dark”
04 – “Slither”
05 – “Nepenthe”
06 – “Haxprocess”
07 – “Famine”
08 – “The Lines In My Hand”
09 – “Folklore”
10 – “Marrow Of The Earth”

Standard and special editions are being planned for the effort as are a box set and a double LP pressing. More details on that are expected in the coming months, while the band are also readying a seven week U.S. headlining tour with an announcement due shortly.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s