iPhone Adventures: Soulfly w/ Incite @ Fubar (November 12, 2015)

Soulfly w/ Incite

Fubar, St. Louis – November 12, 2015

Reaching “legendary” status in the heavy metal genre in this day and age isn’t as easy as achieving the same status in the latest Call of Duty game. As a musician, becoming a “legend” involves endurance, sacrifice, and often complete insanity. It means leaving loved ones behind for weeks, months and even years at a time to travel the globe in order to fulfill that urge… that itch… that compulsion to conquer the distant corners of this earth with the music you’ve created. From Sepultura and Soulfly to Cavalera Conspiracy and Killer Be Killed, Max Cavalera is recognized throughout the metal world because of his dedication to traveling the hard road and delivering raw, intense performances night, after night, after night. Just when you start to wonder if he has reached his limits, he comes out with a new project or a new album that sits your ass back down in your seat and demands your attention.

If that’s not enough, his (step) son Richie Cavalera is quickly following in his footsteps as vocalist of thrash metal band Incite, often touring alongside his predecessor. Many fans would agree that  he keeps a fine pace with Max on each tour. The two bands recently came to Saint Louis and delivered their intensity to a decent crowd at Fubar. Incite played for about 45 minutes, mainly focusing on songs off of their latest release Up In Hell, including the title track, “WTF”, “False Flag” and “Who Am I” in addition to a few older tunes from All Out War and The Slaughter.

Soulfly played for about an hour and a half or so and they did not disappoint. Anyone who has seen Soulfly live before expects a fast & furious set of metal chaos that provokes intense mosh pits and sees fans chanting the words to the songs as cued to do so, and this show was no different. It’s great to see that Max is still touring the smaller club scene and keeping the Soulfly tribe alive. Known for having his own tour bus separated from the rest of the band, Max seems distant from reality while on tour at times. For example, about halfway through their set he asked the crowd how they enjoyed Crowbar (who actually dropped off of the Saint Louis date a month or two ago due to headlining here in 2015) as Marc Rizzo and the rest of the band exchanged “uhhh… woops” glances and laughed it off.

Nonetheless, it was another great performance put on by Max and the gang, this time in support of their new album Archangel. He gives every performance his all and rarely takes more than a few seconds between the end of one song and the start of the next. The set was a good mix of songs from the new album along with some of the classics from early Soulfly and the usual Sepultura hits. Just like the title of the first track of the new album suggests, Max sold his soul to metal, and WE are to be thankful!


  1. Intro –> We Sold Our Souls
  2. Archangel
  3. Intro –> Ishtar Rising
  4. Intro –> Blood. Fire. War Hate.
  5. Carved Inside
  6. Refuse-Resist (Sepultura)
  7. Intro –> Sodomites
  8. Intro –> Prophecy
  9. Seek ‘n’ Strike (Sepultura)
  10. Shamash
  11. Bethlehem’s Blood
  12. Titans
  13. Tribe
  14. Arise / Dead Embryonic Cells (Sepultura)
  15. Frontlines
  16. Roots Bloody Roots (Sepultura)
  17. Intro –> Back to the Primitive
  18. Jumpdafuckup (Intro) –> Eye For An Eye

The following pictures were taken by me, Steve, with my iPhone during the Incite & Soulfly show at Fubar. Every once in a while I get some decent stills… For the most part, I leave the photography to Nick Licata and Matt Albers.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s